Guide: The Game Awards 2021: Where And When To Watch The Game Awards 1

Guide: The Game Awards 2021: Where And When To Watch The Game Awards

Nintendo
Spread the love
  • 17
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
When Is The Game Awards 2021 Guide

We know a few things about Geoff Keighley’s pet project, The Game Awards, already — like the fact it’ll be an in-person event, with a musical performance by Sting, and an exciting world premiere that’s been in the works for two and a half years. We’ve also got the nominations, which include a handful of games on Switch, like Metroid Dread, Death’s Door, and even the latest WarioWare.

But if you’re wondering how to watch The Game Awards, when it is, or how long it’ll run for, we’ve got you covered.

When is The Game Awards 2021?

The Game Awards will take place on Thursday, December 9th (the 10th for anyone east of the Americas), live from the Microsoft Theater in LA, at 5pm Pacific. Here are the local times in several time zones:

North America (December 9th)

5pm PST
6pm MST
7pm CST
8pm EST
9pm AST

Europe (December 10th)

1am GMT
2am CET
3am EET

Asia & Oceania (December 10th)

6:30am IST
9am CST
9am AWST
10am JST
12pm AEDT
2pm NZDT

Where can I watch The Game Awards 2021?

The Game Awards will be streamed on YouTube and Twitch, both of which can be used natively on the Switch now, if you fancy.

How long will The Game Awards 2021 be?

The runtime hasn’t been confirmed yet, but with the pre-show (which is worth watching, they sometimes announce some awards before the show) it’ll likely be a few hours. The Game Awards 2020 was three hours long, as an example. It’ll be a tough late-night watch for those of you in Europe!

Which games have been nominated for The Game Awards 2021?

You can check out the list here for the full nominees.

But specifically for the Switch and Nintendo, the following games are nominated:

Which games will be shown or announced at The Game Awards 2021?

How sweet that you think we’d have any idea! Keighley and pals — and he does seem to consider some of the industry’s biggest names his friends — have things under wraps for now. We’ve heard rumours, of course: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild 2, which is nominated for “Most Anticipated Game”, and maybe we’ll hear more about upcoming games like Bayonetta 3, too.

How does voting work for The Game Awards?

Don’t forget to vote for your favourites in each category! The final winners will be decided by a “blended vote”: 90% determined by the voting jury, and 10% determined by public fan voting. Voting closes on Wednesday, December 8th at 6pm PST. You can check out the jury here — it is largely made up of outlets like The Guardian, Eurogamer, and so on, but as The Game Awards’ FAQ says, “a ballot submitted to The Game Awards represents the collective opinion of an entire outlet.”


Will you be watching The Game Awards? Is it at a ridiculous time where you are? Let us know in the comments!