datAshur BT Encrypted USB Drive, For Your GDPR, HIPAA and CCPA Needs 1

datAshur BT Encrypted USB Drive, For Your GDPR, HIPAA and CCPA Needs

General Tech
datAshur BT Encrypted USB Drive, For Your GDPR, HIPAA and CCPA Needs 2

The datAshur BT Remote Management Console

The console is similar to many MDMs (multi-device managers) and other remote management interfaces, with Users and Drives managed separately.  In order to assign drives to users they must be provisioned with the admin app on your phone, otherwise they will not appear on the portal at all, but once provisioned you can assign one or more drives to your users.  This is also where you can set limitations on what time of day the drive is accessible as well as enabling geolocation to prevent the drives from being used beyond a certain distance of a specified address.   It did indeed detect where my device was when enabled, and when the device was plugged into a USB port.

The Bluetooth component does require power from a USB port, so wipe or unlock commands will not succeed until the device is connected to a network.  When a drive is lost you have numerous options as an administrator, including disabling the user, disabling the drive and lowering the brute force limitation.  This means that if a stranger was to attempt to access the drive using the datAshur BT Managed App, which is the only way to try to unlock the drive, the app would not let them in, even with the correct password.  As a last resort you can send a remote wipe which will make the drive unreadable, and it will need to be formatted again before it can be used.  This would also initiate when the drive is plugged into a USB port and access is attempted with the Managed App.

The iStorage Web Console portal shows the current status of the device, so a delayed wipe or password reset would show until successfully completed – a necessity to ensure the security loop is closed.  You can also drill down on the activity for each device, to track bad logins, successful unlocks and password resets.  This is also where you can delete a drive so you can reprovision it and move it to a new user. The admin app would offer you the choice to wipe or retain any data on the drive.  Users will receive password resets to their email addresses, as well as alerts about any new devices assigned to them.